top of page
Search
  • faithcolleenweaver

I Choose ... EXCITEMENT!

I CHOOSE EXCITEMENT – 04/04/2020


My favorite moments are the ones where my smile is too big for my face. The ones where I can’t help but laugh at the joy I’m experiencing. The ones when I am SO excited over something God is doing in my life that I HAVE to tell the world! Those are the absolute best!

But they fade quickly. And besides, isn’t it annoying to constantly be telling the world how excited you are? They’re probably tired of hearing it. So, what do I do with the excitement? What comes after the hype has worn off and life gets back to rolling?

Before I answer that, let me take you back a few years when I chose to go on a low dose anti-depressant. I wanted something to my mind so I could get a grip on the anxiety and depression trying to eat away at my heart. At first, my body rejected it, throwing me into mood swings and making me an unpredictable mess. Then, after a few weeks, my mind did regulate but not in the way I had hoped for.


The medicine did its job. I found

myself not having the depressive thoughts as often, and the panic attacks began to space out. At the time, I didn’t think I could be any happier. But that was the problem. I literally couldn’t be any happier. My brain not only shut down the receptors for the negative, but also for the positive. I found myself living a monotonous day after day filled with very little joy. Things that normally delighted me made me barely crack a smile. My normal routine of getting SUPER excited over the littlest God “AHA” moment changed to me barely noticing the blessings at all.

What kind of life was that?

Now, years later, I’m off that medication, and I’m back to having those incredible God highs I love. Though as you know if you’ve read any of my past posts, I also still get those extreme lows that I hate. However, they are still fleeting. SO back to my question, now what? Wouldn’t it be easier for me to go back on a medicine that makes those moments less extreme? Maybe it wouldn’t be so hard to get back to reality then?

No. That is the enemy talking. I choose God. And God is love and He is joy and He is excitement! I have BIG things happening in my life, and I’m tired of letting the enemy tell me to suppress them. NO! I will shout them to the world! God didn’t intend for us to live quiet and subdued lives. So, I’m choosing EXCITEMENT! Not the fleeting kind, but the kind that says that each day is a blessing and an opportunity to shout God’s goodwill!

He blesses me EVERY day of my life, and I don’t know about you, but I think that’s something to get excited about! Who are we that the King of all the ages should take time to bless each and every one of us?

So, here is my challenge to you. For this next month, I want you to notice your daily blessing! Write it down or better yet post it to social media! Tell the world how exciting it is to have a God like ours! I’d love to celebrate the moments with you!

And please, Keep me accountable to this as well! I have a book to market and another one to write. God has been doing big things in my heart, and I need to be vocal and reach out! So, let’s spread the EXCITEMENT and show people how amazing it is to live the lives we have!

20 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page